Why we do free housesitting

When we first started out housesitting almost everyone thought we should charge for it. From our point of view the places we get to stay for free and the lovely animal companions are enough payment.

Until quite recently I thought that the only people who charged on the site we are registered with were professionals. When I placed a listing for my mother; we are getting married and all of us are going to Edinburgh for a week, almost everyone who responded wanted paying and they weren’t shy about saying it either! What with the vast majority of users not charging I fail to see why people would choose them, especially when they offer no references and do not come from animal care jobs.

Some people have been sceptical ‘if they do not charge maybe they are up to something and want to rob me!’ and ‘why would anyone want to look after my dog/cat/snake for free?!’ We have a police check and references, so hopefully this puts peoples minds at rest that we are not robbers. In answer to the latter, we get free accommodation, lovely pets, home comforts and the chance to explore somewhere new. When you think about all those then it should be ‘why would you not want to look after my pets for free?’

7 thoughts on “Why we do free housesitting

  1. Hey dudes! LOVE the site! Good to meet fellow housesitters/animal lovers. πŸ™‚
    We run our own online business too, so it enables us to travel while taking our laptops with us. Jen and I both love animals and are vegan.
    Your house sounds cool too! Love the psychadelic carpet πŸ™‚
    Where are you guys based? SW England? We’d love to go to Devon one day soon.

  2. Hi Mike,
    Online businesses are brilliant for the flexibility, the idea of having to ask a boss for holiday time makes me feel nauseous!
    My mum is vegan, Zack and I were lifelong veges until last year when we had to begin eating meat due to extreme fatigue, I kind of wish the meat had not worked as it is difficult to eat but we have to put our health and quality of life first.
    The physcedelic carpet has been replaced by floorboards but I kept a photo of it to prove how insane it was.
    We are in Yeovil, Somerset which is by the Dorset border and around a hours drive to Devon, lots of great places nearby. Maybe one day see you in the West Country πŸ™‚
    Louise

    • Agreed! Love the online world! πŸ™‚
      I know what you mean there. When I was living in northeast China I had to sometimes have a bit of meat because I couldn’t find legumes, beans, etc. I couldn’t get all the nutrients I needed so I did the occasional burger, haha. Fortunately a new shop opened which sold the canned goods I needed so I made the jump back! πŸ˜€
      Ah cool! You may indeed see us one day! Are you football fans? Yeovil Town? πŸ™‚

      • My mum finds travel as vegan quite difficult at times. I am glad somewhere opened that meant you were able to get what you need. For us unfortunately we just do not seem to handle vegan protein forms. Not really football fans, we have been to the stadium but for a event only. Proud to see them in leage one though.

Leave a Reply

